polarki.blogg.se

Firefox for mac ibook g4
Firefox for mac ibook g4











firefox for mac ibook g4
  1. FIREFOX FOR MAC IBOOK G4 INSTALL
  2. FIREFOX FOR MAC IBOOK G4 UPGRADE
  3. FIREFOX FOR MAC IBOOK G4 DOWNLOAD

but you’re not completely stranded with an outdated browser.Įnter TenFourFox. Google Chrome requires Snow Leopard (which doesn’t run on PowerPC-based Macs), as does Firefox and any newer version of Safari. I would’vd done just that, YouTube, if any of the latest versions actually ran on my computer.

FIREFOX FOR MAC IBOOK G4 UPGRADE

But when I visited, I was presented with a message telling me that my browser is old and terrible (i paraphrase) and that I should upgrade to the latest version of Safari, Chrome, or Firefox. Macgasm looks fine-complete with custom display fonts-and Apple’s site displays properly, too.

FIREFOX FOR MAC IBOOK G4 DOWNLOAD

You can still download Safari 5.0.6 for OS X 10.5.8, and it works OK for the most part. While some sites like loaded fine, others didn’t work properly-the navigation bar on didn’t even appear. Leopard shipped with Safari 3.0, and the 10.5.8 upgraded me to Safari 4.0.2, but both are severely antiquated. I had better luck this time, and 10.5.8 installed as expected.

firefox for mac ibook g4

FIREFOX FOR MAC IBOOK G4 INSTALL

Not good.Īs it turns out, this is a known issue with OS X 10.5 through 10.5.5, and the solution was to quit out of Software Update (command-Q worked, even though the menubar was hidden it just dumped me back to the login screen) then download and install the 10.5.8 combo update from Apple’s website. But when it was time to install the update, Software update never progressed beyond the “Configuring update” screen.

firefox for mac ibook g4

My Leopard DVD installed version 10.5, but the latest version of Leopard is 10.5.8, so I went and ran Software Update to get as up-to-date as I possibly could. Your iPhone may have more storage space than my iBook. Also, Leopard is bulkier than Tiger, so I had to clear off lots of disk space to fit it on my 30GB hard drive with room to spare. Installation went smoothly and it runs reasonably well on the G4, but the iBook loses out on some of Leopard’s visual effects, such as the transparent menubar. Leopard is the last version of OS X that worked with PowerPC-based Macs. I had a spare copy of Leopard (10.5), though, and I figured that I have a better chance of running more current software with this version, so I went ahead and upgraded. It had been running OS X Tiger (10.4), which is over nine and a half years old, but ran well on my hardware. My first challenge was to get my iBook up and running with something approaching a workable version of OS X. I wish Apple would release a new thinner, lighter Mac notebook that shared its basic proportions, but that might be wishful thinking-Apple doesn’t seem to be big on standard 4:3 displays these days. Sure, this old Mac is bulky and heavy compared to today’s svelte notebooks, but I have a soft spot for the iBook’s compact design. Its 12.1-inch, 1024-by-768 screen is small by modern standards, though it was reasonable in 2004 (it’s amazing how much more screen real estate websites require these days). This iBook G4 shipped with 256MB of memory-a bit tight, even in 2004-but I eventually maxed it out to a more spacious 1.25GB. My iBook is based around a 1.2GHz PowerPC G4 processor, a 30GB hard drive, and an AT Mobility Radeon 9200 GPU with 32MB of video memory. To see what I could accomplish with an old Mac, on a whim, I pulled my ten-year-old iBook G4 out of the closet and fired it up. There’s also a good chance, though, that you can still use that old Mac for something productive (or fun)-be it to run old games, check email, or give the kids something to use to write papers. If you’re reading this, there’s a good chance that you have some sort of old old Mac sitting around the house gathering dust.













Firefox for mac ibook g4